The Definition of You

Good afternoon my wonder bots. Today I had a thought, a thought I receive quite often in this society in which I reside. Why must we be defined? Why must we be put into categories, and why do we want to be?

People may look at you curiously and ask, what are you? In reference to your race. If you’re not black or white nor hispanic… then what are you? Which makes me cackle when the world is going to be mainly mixed in the next couple of decades. At least, I presume. We are all so diverse (most of us) and we share something I think people (the ones asking what we are) fail to remember.

We are all human!

Thank you… Thank you. I know, profound. Let’s post that quote and fail to keep this tinsy fact in mind, shall we?

I am currently working on a new project that will reflect my mind in this new era of acceptance. The whole world is opening up at last, revealing terrors and successes all over this crazy, beautiful planet. Honestly, all I can think about is how to help people. How to open more minds, tap into some creative and loving areas in some lives, and really touch a soft spot and make people just a little uncomfortable. I want to create something extraordinary. Well, you’re probably thinking, who doesn’t?

I love to write fiction in a way that is so realistic it leaves one believing this could happen to them, that it could in fact be real. I want to nudge some areas others are afraid to pounce upon. I want to create a revolutionary piece of work. This sounds like a lot just typing in my small dimly lit room, but it sounds worth it. I thought… well since it is already occupying my mind more than anything, I might as well do something about it!

I’ve tried poems, which do not seem to feel original enough, so now I am trying a short story or novel to express this newfound mindset I have. I want to challenge the mind to steer clear of definition, to forget al logic and simply sail for an evening without even noticing they are doing so. I want to rid of labeling for a moment in time, to rid of all evils, to make the reader feel safe yet ready to risk it all.

Yea… I know, I’m working on it. I’m here to encourage you to do the same. Do not fear a little turn in your passion or career, your work or vision. Please, don’t panic. Take some soothing deep breaths and listen to yourself; listen to your mind, your heart and body. You only have one chance in this moment to do as much as you can for yourself. Or else the moment is lost in the category that society has put you in, a pile of millions of others who are apparently “you.”

Ignore that shit. You are original and cannot be defined. You are greatness. Now go work your booty off.

Peace,

Z

P.S. I love the name of this post, may have to get my poetry socks on and work some magic 😛

Leave a comment